James Joyce
2023 |

Dubliners is a collection of short stories written by James Joyce. It was written in 1904–07 and published in 1914. The basis for Dubliners is the three stories he had published under the pseudonym Stephen Dedalus. The author has put a well-calibrated structure. Narrated in the first person, the first three stories portray children. The next four deal with young adults, and are told by a third person, whose tone and sensibility shifts to reflect that of the changing protagonists. The following four stories concern mature life from middle age onward. And the next three deal with the public life of politics, art, and religion. The Dead, the final story, is considered a world masterpiece in short story telling. It is set before, during, and after an evening Christmas party attended by Gabriel and Gretta Conroy and their friends and relatives. It leads gradually to Gabriel’s late-night revelation about his life and marriage when a tender song reminds Gretta of a boy who died of love for her.

Read more... Read less...
Booklisti may receive a small commission if you purchase a book.